No Media?

Media fast

-The Before-

I woke up the morning that I was going to do the Media Fast and my first feeling was dread. No media meant no cell phone and that was going to be the hardest part for me. Its not that I need to be in constant contact with people but the thought of being unreachable made my throat tighten. I live alone and my mother would be traveling that night and all of my other family was out of town. The “what ifs: began to close in on me as I began texting all of my parents, telling them what I was going to be doing. They were all unconcerned and told me to have fun with it. “FUN?!?!” You people are sick.

I read that there was now a documented medical phobia for a person who is afraid to be without their cell phone. When I first heard this, I laughed. I thought how ridiculous, but has I stood there with my finger on the power button, I thought to my self, “Oh God, I’m one of those people!”

THAT was a scary thought. I don’t think even my parents generation knows how to communicate or function with out At LEAST a land-line phone. Families are much more spread out these days and due to the ease of transportation and technology, communicating is not a problem. Are we prepared for the day when it does become a problem? If the global network goes down for as little as a day, the wide spread panic would be astronomical.

Of course I’m am sanding there contemplating the fate of the free world if the network goes down, while trying to get the nerve to turn off my phone. I felt kind of silly. It is only 24 hours. After a short encouraging conversation with a good friend, and after calling my mom, I shut off my phone. I never knew my house was so quite…

-The First Hour-

I didn’t even make it the first hour before I started singing to myself to fill the silence. My phone was off and sitting on the table, staring at me. In hindsight maybe I should have put it in a place where I couldn’t see it. I kept walking by it, staring, like it was a big cupcake that I shouldn’t eat but really wanted to. I did the dishes while singing “Misery” by maroon5 and then laughed at my own irony.  I was starting to have fun. I sang other love songs to my phone to see how many would fit and I laughed for like 20 minutes. I sang “No Air” by Jordan Sparks. “How am I supposed to breath no air? Its how it feels when ever you aren’t there” It was at this point I decided I was a weirdo. But oh well!

-Later-

I couldn’t take the silence so I went to my mom’s house to see if some one would entertain me, they wouldn’t, so I went to work early. We are not allowed to have our cell phones on us while we are at work, but of course all of us do. We just sneak off to a secluded spot to check our phones. I left my phone in the car this time because it was off. The restaurant was really busy so I didn’t have a lot of time to think about my phone or media. A few times some one would try to trip me up and they would ask what the score of the game was or to look at something on their phone. I just told people “I Cant”. Most people left it at that but the few people that asked me why got stupid answers. I didn’t feel like explaining the assignment to everyone so I just said things like “I gave up screens for lint” or “I’m allergic to it”. People knew I wasn’t serious but they let it go. Even though I didn’t have my phone on me, I kept searching for it in my apron. Kept thinking of when I was going to find time to go look at my phone, then I remembered I didn’t have it.

-That Night-

I decided to have my girlfriends over for some beers after work so I would have something to distract me. It was really difficult to convince them to not turn on the music. They thought it was funny. But I put up a good fight. So what do those dirty fighters do? They got me drunk and tricked me into going to a bar. I completely forgot about the media fast. Not so much that I turned on my phone but I forgot about the music in the bar. And I didn’t remember until we walked through the door and I yelled “OH GOD! MUSIC! I CANT HAVE IT!.” But we were there and there was nothing I could do about it. I don’t remember a lot after that. Evidently I lamented all night about how I was going to fail my assignment and my teacher was going to hate me. What can I say; I have a flair for the dramatics. When we got home, I had my friend turn on my phone for me and set an alarm because I had to work in the morning. She told me I had a text from the boy I like and evidently I yelled “I CANT LOOK AT IT TODAY”. Obviously I was trying to take this assignment seriously but I was failing miserably.

-The Next Day-

The last leg of the 24 hours was no problem. I woke up before my alarm and turned my phone back off. Got ready for work and left my phone in the car again. But the time I got off work the fast was over. I had 4 voicemails and 12 texts.

Summary-

To say I hated not having my phone would be an understatement. I can do just fine with out the computer, and TV and books, but need my cell phone. I don’t need the Facebook or twitter on my phone, just the texting and phone calls. I would even be okay with just phone calls.

I see how effected I am by media and honestly don’t think I’m some one who is dependent on it. I agree that people need to be more unplugged and learn how to operate outside of technology.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

