PodCasts

My first experience with podcasts was in Hihgschool. I was playing around with itunes and I saw one of their free services. At the time I was really into Veronica Mars the Tv show. I noticed that itunes had a Veronica Mars Podcast so I subscribed to it. I listened to it once maybe but I really didnt understand it. I couldnt figure out what people were talking about. So I quickly lost interest. I havent really revisited them again since then till now.

A podcast is “type of digital media consisting of an episodic series of audio radio, video, PDF, or ePub files subscribed to and downloaded through the web or streamed online to a computer or mobile device” Podcasts are basically doing what the radio has done for years but because of new technology and hardware it makes sharing of audo and text files.

All you have to do to have a pod cast is record your audio, make an MP3, tag it and give it are and then submit it to podcast directories. You dont need any special skills or special certification. If you feel like you have something to say then you should have a podcast and put it out there.

There are more podcasts than i can count. If you can think of it, there is probably a podcast about it. Its like books on crack. They range from fan sites, to music outlets, to conversations and advice on any given topic. I know there are many advice podcats that have to do with business and marketing.

I listened to 3 different podcasts. My favorite band is A day to remember and i listened to a channel that played their music and talked about tour dates and had all kinds of content about the band members. I was cool. I also listen to a small businesses advice one. It was exceedingly boring. Next I listened to one from ESPN. I found the podcast as boring as the channel. So I think the trick is to listen to podcasts about things you are into. Personally i think I would just listen to my “A day to remember” station on Pandora.

I have considered doing something like a podcasts. My thing would be like a “dear Abby” column. People would email me about their problems and I would give them hilarious advice that would point them in the right direction. I just really dont have time for that right now.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

